

The Order of Australia Association, South Australia Branch

Patron: Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia

STUDENT CITIZENSHIP AWARDS

The 2023 Student Citizenship Awards

No embargo

The Student Citizenship Awards program is conducted annually as the flagship program of the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association.

The following students have been identified as the Top 10 recipients, to receive a 'With Distinction' award:

Aden Croser, Cardijn College

Jessica Grasser, University Senior College

Jack Haddad, Rostrevor College

Jesse Isaac, Endeavour College

Rogayah Hani Abul Khair, IQRA Islamic College

Efthemia Kipirtoglou, Immanuel College

Zoe Lin, Temple Christian College

Alexandra Meneses, Cardijn College

Thomas Oxford, Parafield Gardens High School

Nikki Pfitzner, Berri Regional Secondary College

These students will be presented to Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia and Patron of the Order of Australia Association SA Branch, at a special reception at Government House in November.

Each will receive a 'With Distinction' certificate signed by Her Excellency and the SA Branch Chairman Mr Tony Metcalf OAM, as well as a Student Citizenship Award medallion mounted on an engraved wooden plaque. After presenting awards to the Top 10, Her Excellency will announce the **2023 South Australian Student Citizen of the Year**.

We heartily congratulate these students on being selected for this well-deserved award.



The Order of Australia Association, South Australia Branch

Background

The Student Citizenship Awards program is conducted annually as the flagship program of the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association, of which Her Excellency is Patron. Senior students are nominated by their schools and selected from submissions assessed against four criteria – leadership, contributions to the school and/or community and contributions to the environment and/or community development, as well as pride in Australian citizenship.

Student Citizenship Awards Convenor, Noel Hender OAM BEM, has particularly acknowledged Mr Keith 'Chook' Fowler OAM, whose generous donation has enabled the SA Branch to include a special medallion for all Award recipients.

A total of 39 nominations were received this year, from thirty schools. A Certificate of Appreciation will be awarded to IQRA College, Parafield Gardens High Schools, Playford College and Pembroke College to acknowledge those schools who have participated for the first time.

Those nominees selected to be in the Top 10 ('With Distinction') will receive their medallion from Her Excellency mounted on an engraved wooden plaque. In addition to the 'Top Ten', a further 29 students will receive a certificate and medallion – 20 of which were rated as 'Highly Commended'.

The South Australia Branch of the Order of Australia Association thanks Her Excellency and Mr Bunten for once again making Government House available for this ceremony and reception, and we congratulate all recipients of the 2023 Student Citizenship Awards.

Contact Person for further information:

Noel Hender OAM BEM, Convenor Student Citizenship Awards Phone: 0409 672 882 sca.sabranch@theorderofaustralia.asn.au

More information and images:

The Order of Australia Association https://theorderofaustralia.asn.au/sa/school-awards/

ROLL OF HONOUR

The most recent South Australian Student Citizens of the Year are as follows:

Callum Barrott-Walsh, Cardijn College, and Jordan Norman, Urrbrae Agricultural High School)
Georgia Kehagias, Immanuel College

2020 Charlotte Mauviel, Temple College

2019 William Gillett, Loxton High School

2018 Austin Lovell, Christian Brothers College