

# The Order of Australia Association, South Australia Branch

Patron: Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia

# STUDENT CITIZENSHIP AWARDS STUDENT CITIZEN OF THE YEAR

## The 2023 Student Citizenship Awards

At a presentation ceremony for the 2023 Student Citizenship Awards held at Government House today, Thomas Oxford, a year 12 student attending Parafield Gardens High School, was announced as the 2023 South Australian Student Citizen of the Year.

The announcement was made by Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia and Patron of the Order of Australia Association SA Branch at a special reception at Government House for the presentation of the Top 10 ('With Distinction') Student Citizenship Awards.

Thomas has made an impressive contribution to his school and community, as confirmed in his personal citation:

## **Thomas Oxford, Parafield Gardens High School:**

Showing exceptional leadership and unwavering commitment in driving significant initiatives across the school, Thomas has been instrumental in implementing several projects that have brought great benefits to the school and wider community. His consistent dedication and proactive approach to the development and sustainability of the environment engages and inspires others to become agents of change and to deliver successful programs such as the school's recycling bin program, the Clean-up Australia Day activities and many other environmentally friendly activities.

The Student Citizenship Awards program is conducted annually as the flagship program of the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association, of which Her Excellency is Patron.

Senior students are nominated by their schools and selected from submissions assessed against four criteria:

- leadership, values and citizenship, achievements for the school and/or community;
- organisational, management and communication skills and initiatives;
- concern for the advancement and well-being of disadvantaged others; and/or
- contribution to the development or sustainability of the environment.



# The Order of Australia Association, South Australia Branch

At Government House on Monday 27 November, Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia and Patron of the Order of Australia Association SA Branch, presented Student Citizenship Award 'With Distinction' plaques to the following Top 10 students:

Aden Croser, Cardijn College

Jessica Grasser, University Senior College

Jack Haddad, Rostrevor College

Jesse Isaac, Endeavour College

Rogayah Hani Abul Khair, IQRA Islamic College

Efthemia Kipirtoglou, Immanuel College

Zoe Lin, Temple Christian College

Alexandra Meneses, Cardijn College

Thomas Oxford, Parafield Gardens High School

Nikki Pfitzner, Berri Regional Secondary College

Each received a 'With Distinction' certificate signed by Her Excellency and the SA Branch Chairman Mr Tony Metcalf OAM, as well as a Student Citizenship Award medallion mounted on an engraved wooden plaque.

Her Excellency then announced **Thomas Oxford of Parafield Gardens High School** as the 2023 South Australian Student Citizen of the Year. Her Excellency presented Thomas with a special trophy in recognition of his outstanding achievement.

In addition to these 'Top Ten' awardees, a further 29 students will receive a certificate and medallion – 20 of which were rated as 'Highly Commended'. A total of 39 nominations were received this year, from thirty schools.

Mr Tony Metcalf OAM, Chairman of the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association, said: "On behalf of our Branch Committee and all of our members, I heartily congratulate all recipients of the 2023 Student Citizenship Awards, and particularly Thomas for his well-deserved selection as Student Citizen of the Year".

## **Contact Person for further information:**

Noel Hender OAM BEM, Convenor Student Citizenship Awards

Phone: 0409 672 882

sca.sabranch@theorderofaustralia.asn.au

#### More information and images:

The Order of Australia Association

https://theorderofaustralia.asn.au/sa/school-awards/



# The Order of Australia Association, South Australia Branch

## **ROLL OF HONOUR**

The most recent South Australian Student Citizens of the Year are as follows:

| 2023 | Thomas Oxford. | Parafield Gardens | Hiah School |
|------|----------------|-------------------|-------------|
|      |                |                   |             |

| 2022 | Callum Barrott-Walsh, Cardijn College, and      |  |  |
|------|---|--|--|
|      | Jordan Norman, Urrbrae Agricultural High School |  |  |

| 2020 | Charlotte Mauviel.   | Temple College   |
|------|----------------------|------------------|
| 2020 | CHUITOLLE IVIUUVIEI. | TETTIPLE COTTEGE |

- 2019 William Gillett, Loxton High School
- 2018 Austin Lovell, Christian Brothers College

#### **Further information**

The Student Citizenship Awards offered by the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association are intended to recognise those senior secondary students who actively engage with and contribute to school and/or local communities rather than for specific academic or sporting achievements. The Awards exemplify the Association's objective:

## To celebrate and promote outstanding Australian citizenship

Student Citizenship Awards Convenor, Noel Hender OAM BEM, has particularly acknowledged Mr Keith 'Chook' Fowler OAM, whose generous donation has enabled the SA Branch to include a special medallion for all Award recipients.

The Student Citizenship Awards program of the Order of Australia Association SA Branch is separate from, but proudly presented in collaboration with, the Governor's Civics Awards for Schools program:

www.education.sa.gov.au/governors-civics-awards-schools