

# The Order of Australia Association, South Australia Branch

Patron: Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia

# STUDENT CITIZENSHIP AWARDS

### The 2024 Student Citizenship Awards

### No embargo

The Student Citizenship Awards program is conducted annually as the flagship program of the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association.

The following students have been identified as the Top 10 recipients, to receive a 'With Distinction' award:

Baxter Cocks, St John's Grammar School

Jasmine Dillon, Cardijn College

Muhammad Keswanee, IQRA College

Ori Packer, St John's Grammar School

Jamie Reichelt, Immanuel College

Alexandra Seal, Loreto College

Kayla Talbot, Cardijn College

Amy Wallace, Scotch College

Lily Williams, Henley High School

Archie Young, St Peter's College

These students will be presented to Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia and Patron of the Order of Australia Association SA Branch, at a special reception at Government House in November.

Each will receive a 'With Distinction' certificate signed by Her Excellency and the SA Branch Chairman Mr Tony Metcalf OAM, as well as a Student Citizenship Award medallion mounted on an engraved wooden plaque. After presenting awards to the Top 10, Her Excellency will announce the **2024 South Australian Student Citizen of the Year**.

We heartily congratulate these students on being selected for this well-deserved award.



# The Order of Australia Association, South Australia Branch

#### **Background**

The Student Citizenship Awards program is conducted annually as the flagship program of the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association, of which Her Excellency is Patron. Senior students are nominated by their schools and selected from submissions assessed against four criteria – leadership, contributions to the school and/or community and contributions to the environment and/or community development, as well as pride in Australian citizenship.

Student Citizenship Awards Convenor, Noel Hender OAM BEM, particularly acknowledges the late Keith 'Chook' Fowler OAM, whose generous donation enabled the SA Branch to include a special medallion for all Award recipients.

A total of 49 nominations were received this year, from 35 schools.

Those nominees selected to be in the Top 10 ('With Distinction') will receive their medallion from Her Excellency mounted on an engraved wooden plaque. In addition to the 'Top Ten', a further 39 students will receive a certificate and medallion – 19 of which were rated as 'Highly Commended'.

The South Australia Branch of the Order of Australia Association thanks Her Excellency and Mr Bunten for once again making Government House available for this ceremony and reception, and we congratulate all recipients of the 2024 Student Citizenship Awards.

#### **Contact Person for further information:**

Noel Hender OAM BEM, Convenor Student Citizenship Awards

Phone: 0409 672 882

sca.sabranch@theorderofaustralia.asn.au

### More information and images:

The Order of Australia Association

https://theorderofaustralia.asn.au/sa/school-awards/

## **ROLL OF HONOUR**

The most recent South Australian Student Citizens of the Year are as follows:

- 2023 Thomas Oxford, Parafield Gardens High School
- 2022 Callum Barrott-Walsh, Cardijn College, and Jordan Norman, Urrbrae Agricultural High School
- 2021 Georgia Kehagias, Immanuel College
- 2020 Charlotte Mauviel, Temple Christian College (Mile End Campus)
- 2019 William Gillett, Loxton High School
- 2018 Austin Lovell, Christian Brothers College