

The Order of Australia Association, South Australia Branch Patron: Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia

STUDENT CITIZENSHIP AWARDS STUDENT CITIZEN OF THE YEAR

The 2024 Student Citizenship Awards

At a presentation ceremony for the 2024 Student Citizenship Awards held at Government House today, **Amy Wallace**, a year 11 student attending Scotch College, was announced as the **2024 South Australian Student Citizen of the Year**.

The announcement was made at a special reception at Government House hosted by Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia and Patron of the Order of Australia Association SA Branch, for the presentation of the Top 10 ('With Distinction') Student Citizenship Awards.

Amy has made an impressive contribution to her school and community, as confirmed in her personal citation:

Amy Wallace, Scotch College:

An extraordinarily gifted and inspirational young person, Amy has shown outstanding leadership and citizenship through a myriad of high-value service activities and initiatives spanning local, national and international levels. Driven by her passions, Amy has consistently contributed to the College and wider communities through volunteering, mentoring, fundraising and advocacy. Amy has held various leadership roles throughout her school journey, and with her strong commitment to inclusivity and positive change, has been an excellent role model for her peers.

The Student Citizenship Awards program is conducted annually as the flagship program of the South Australia Branch of the Order of Australia Association, of which Her Excellency is Patron.

Senior students are nominated by their schools and selected from submissions assessed against four criteria:

- leadership, values and citizenship, achievements for the school and/or community;
- organisational, management and communication skills and initiatives;
- concern for the advancement and well-being of disadvantaged others; and/or
- contribution to the development or sustainability of the environment.



The Order of Australia Association, South Australia Branch

At Government House on Monday 25 November, Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia and Patron of the Order of Australia Association SA Branch, presented Student Citizenship Award 'With Distinction' plaques to the following Top 10 students:

Baxter Cocks, St John's Grammar School

Jasmine Dillon, Cardijn College

Muhammad Keswanee, IQRA College

Ori Packer, St John's Grammar School

Jamie Reichelt, Immanuel College

Kayla Talbot, Cardijn College

Amy Wallace, Scotch College

Lily Williams, Henley High School

Archie Young, St Peter's College

Each received a 'With Distinction' certificate signed by Her Excellency and the SA Branch Chairman Mr Tony Metcalf OAM, as well as a Student Citizenship Award medallion mounted on an engraved wooden plaque.

An additional Top Ten recipient, Alexandra Seal, was overseas on 25 November and instead received her Award at Loreto College.

Amy Wallace of Scotch College was then announced as the 2024 South Australian Student Citizen of the Year. Her Excellency presented Amy with a special trophy in recognition of her outstanding achievement.

In addition to these 'Top Ten' awardees, a further 39 students will receive a certificate and medallion – 19 of whom were rated as 'Highly Commended'. A total of 49 nominations were received this year, from 35 schools.

Mr Tony Metcalf OAM, Chairman of the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association, said: "On behalf of our Branch Committee and all of our members, I heartily congratulate all recipients of the 2024 Student Citizenship Awards, and particularly Amy for her well-deserved selection as Student Citizen of the Year".

Contact Person for further information: Noel Hender OAM BEM, Convenor Student Citizenship Awards Phone: 0409 672 882 <u>sca.sabranch@theorderofaustralia.asn.au</u>

More information and images: The Order of Australia Association https://theorderofaustralia.asn.au/sa/school-awards/



The Order of Australia Association, South Australia Branch

ROLL OF HONOUR

The most recent South Australian Student Citizens of the Year are as follows:

- 2023 Thomas Oxford, Parafield Gardens High School
- 2022 Callum Barrott-Walsh, Cardijn College, and Jordan Norman, Urrbrae Agricultural High School
- 2021 Georgia Kehagias, Immanuel College
- 2020 Charlotte Mauviel, Temple College
- 2019 William Gillett, Loxton High School
- 2018 Austin Lovell, Christian Brothers College

Further information

The Student Citizenship Awards offered by the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association are intended to recognise those senior secondary students who actively engage with and contribute to school and/or local communities rather than for specific academic or sporting achievements. The Awards exemplify the Association's objective:

To celebrate and promote outstanding Australian citizenship

Student Citizenship Awards Convenor, Noel Hender OAM BEM, has particularly acknowledged Mr Keith 'Chook' Fowler OAM, whose generous donation has enabled the SA Branch to include a special medallion for all Award recipients.

The Student Citizenship Awards program of the Order of Australia Association SA Branch is separate from, but proudly presented in collaboration with, the Governor's Civics Awards for Schools program:

www.education.sa.gov.au/governors-civics-awards-schools