The Order of Australia Association



Branches & Regional Groups :: South Australia


Welcome to the South Australian branch area of the Order of Australia Association

The SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association was officially formed in 1980.  Lindsay Bowes AM was elected as the first Chairman, Dymphna Eszenyi AM as Secretary and Gordon Duffield OAM as Treasurer and together with their Committee a strong foundation was laid for the future of the Association in South Australia.

Since the founding of the Branch there have been 13 Chairmen, 9 Secretaries and 9 Treasurers that have successfully led the Branch Committees over the intervening years, giving most generously of their time to arrange functions, represent the Association in an official capacity, attend investitures, travel to regional functions and act as Directors on the National Association Committee.

The South Australian branch of the Association is one of eight branches.  It comprises metropolitan members centred in and around Adelaide and six regional groups located in the following geographical areas; South Eastern Regional Group centred on Mount Gambier in the South Eastern area of South Australia; Gawler Regional Group based in the Gawler area North of the Adelaide metropolitan region; Kangaroo Island Regional Group; and the Barossa Regional Group centred on the Mount Pleasant area and the Fleurieu Regional group centred on Victor harbour to the South of the Adelaide area..

The SA Branch arranges meetings and outings for its members supported by Regional Group meetings once or twice each year.  Functions arranged by the Branch Committee include New Recipients receptions at the time of the April and September Investitures held by the Governor of South Australia.  A queen’s Birthday luncheon, Multi Faith Celebration of Australia Day and selected visits to such as the Maritime Museum, Glass Blowing laboratory, Art Gallery of South Australia.  The Branch also invites all schools and Colleges in South Australia to nominate up to two students from Years 11 and/or 12 for the Branch Student Citizenship Awards.  Ten such awards are made each year to the ten students selected by a panel of adjudicators.  The student considered the top student for the awards is also provided with a trophy appropriately engraved as Student Citizen of the Year.  Also among the Community works program of the Branch is support for the Adelaide Eisteddfod.



About Us

Upcoming Events



School Awards

Home | About us | Membership | Quiet Australians | News & Events | Foundation | FAQs | Award Nomination | Surveys | Contact Us
Terms | Privacy | Links

To foster love of and pride in Australian citizenship and to uphold the high principles and prestige of the Order of Australia
The Order of Australia Association Limited ACN 008 612 664 - A Company Limited by Guarantee

Web site designed by Daniel Vidoni