Australian Capital Territory

ACT Student Citizenship Awards

The ACT Branch of the Order of Australia Association is proud to present annual awards to ACT school students and school groups for voluntary community service and demonstration of good citizenship.

There are three categories of award:

  • For individual students from Year 3 to Year 12 who have demonstrated sustained community service and/or undertaken an outstanding citizenship project.
  • For student groups from Year 3 to Year 12 that have demonstrated sustained community service and/or undertaken an outstanding citizenship project.
  • For Year 10, 11 or 12 students who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and achievement.

Due to the impact of COVID-19 and associated control measures, the Branch Committee has reluctantly decided that there will be no awards in 2020. We look forward to starting again in 2021 and will advise schools when we are calling for nominations.

For more information, write to the Student Awards Convener at or PO Box 423 CANBERRA ACT 2601.

Past Recipients

Names and schools of past recipients are shown below: for photos and more detail on each award, see our Events page.


No Awards


Sarah Davis, Daramalan College

Samuel Freeman, Canberra Grammar School

Aidan Gunning, Daramalan College

Caleb Hodgson, UC Senior Secondary College

Isaac Martin, Gunghalin College

The LEADAS (Leadership, Engagement, Academia, Development, Athleticism and Service) boys program and the PEARLS (Promoting Empowerment, Achievement, Resilience, Legacy and Support) girls program, Amaroo School.


Harry Blake, Radford College

Maddy Garfarth, St Mary MacKillop College

Hannah McGilvray and Ruan Ranse van Rensberg, Brindabella Christian College

Lauren Murphy, Holy Spirit Primary School

Ellen Scott and Caitlin Williams, St Mary MacKillop College

Ava Starling, Forrest Primary School


Leah Smith, Calwell High School

Sam Stubbs, St Edmunds College

Charles Weston School Water Raisers

Lochy’s Mates, Fadden Primary School

Service Learning Program “Strong Minds and Gentle Hearts”, Marist College


Ben Jenkins, St Mary MacKillop College

Aodhan Kirk, St Francis Xavier College

ACT Primary Concert Choir

Gold Angels, Merici College

Year 11/12 Youth Ministry Team, St Edmunds College