South Australia


** 2021 Nominations are now CLOSED**

Student Citizenship Awards – 2021

Nominations are now invited for the 2021 Student Citizenship Awards offered by the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association.

Each school or college is entitled to nominate up to two students from Years 11 and/or 12 who satisfy the criteria for these prestigious awards.

Please note: Students nominated in past years are eligible to be renominated, but any of these students who have previously been received by the Governor will be ranked only on achievements since that recognition.

The awards are intended to recognise those senior secondary students who actively engage with and contribute to school and/or local communities rather than for specific academic or sporting achievements. The Awards exemplify the Association’s objective:

To celebrate and promote outstanding Australian citizenship

All nominations received are considered by an adjudication panel, and those students judged worthy of recognition will receive a ‘Highly Commended’ certificate signed by His Excellency the Governor of South Australia and Patron of the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association.

The ten students judged most worthy will receive a ‘With Distinction’ certificate and special plaque at an award ceremony later in the year, generally hosted by His Excellency at Government House. At this ceremony, the 2021 Student Citizen of the Year will be announced.

In keeping with the aim of the Association to raise awareness about the Order of Australia and Australian citizenship in general, each school/college will be encouraged to invite a member of the Association – an Australian Honours recipient – to attend a suitable school function, probably in term 4, to present the Student Citizenship Award certificate to the recipient student. Arrangements for the member’s attendance will be coordinated by the Convenor in conjunction with and subject to approval from the school/college.

The assessment for student nominations will be based on the criteria set out in the nomination form and brochure. Please note that the criteria differ slightly from previous years and therefore nomination forms from preceding years should NOT be used for 2021.


If you have any questions or concerns, please contact :
The Convenor, Student Citizenship Awards
Mr Noel Hender OAM BEM

If you would like assistance in completing the nomination form, Association members may be available to assist in this process.

The SA Branch is very grateful for the ongoing patronage and support of His Excellency the Governor. We thank all the participating schools for their strong support of this Branch initiative.


The Student Citizenship Award program of the Order of Australia Association SA Branch is separate from, but proudly presented in collaboration with, the Governor’s Civics Awards for Schools program:




Charlotte Mauviel from Temple Christian College (Mile End Campus) is South Australia’s 2020 Student Citizen of the Year.

The SA Branch Chairman Tony Metcalf OAM joins with all Order of Australia Association members in congratulating each of the worthy Student Citizenship Award recipients who were selected to be in the Top 10.

The 2020 Student Citizenship Award Top 10 recipients, with His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC, Governor of South Australia (left to right): Samoda Silva (Adelaide High School); Sallee Shepherd (Unity College); Ethan White (Xavier College); Taylor Portelli (Eynesbury College); Kylan Beech (Nazareth College); Jake Meinel (Temple Christian College); Charlotte Mauviel (Temple Christian College); Gabrielle Connolly (Cardijn College); Skye Sexton (Loreto College) and Elijah Barrott-Walsh (Cardijn College), with the SA Branch Chair Mr Tony Metcalf OAM.

The Student Citizenship Awards program is the flagship endeavour of the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association.

Since 2003, the Association, encouraged by school leaders, has successfully offered prestigious awards and certificates to year 11 and 12 students nominated by their respective schools and colleges, and selected by an adjudication panel as worthy of recognition for their contribution to citizenship in South Australia.

olivia webb

On 16 November 2020, Student Citizenship Awards Convenor Mr Noel Hender OAM BEM presented a 2020 ‘Highly Commended’ certificate to Olivia Webb (image supplied by Wilderness School).

The awards – known as Student Citizenship Awards – are intended to recognise those young people who contribute broadly through voluntary service to school and/or general communities. They exemplify the Association’s objective: “To celebrate and promote outstanding Australian citizenship”.